[Review] YSL baby doll kiss & blush in #4 Orange Fougueux and #8 Pink Hedonista

Hi everyone! Today I would like to review YSL baby doll kiss & blush! I really like how YSL comes up with their product names 🙂

Brand: Yves Saint Lauren (YSL)
Product
: Baby doll kiss & blush
Shade: #4 Orange Fougueux and #8 Pink Hedonista
Type: Lipstick, Lip tint, Cream blush, Cheek tint
Price: US$40 (I got it at SGD45 duty free)
Website: YSL website

 THE PACKAGING

Comes in a clear square-cut container where you can see the shade clearly. And signature YSL gold tube handle. Simple and sweet! Light and won’t hurt to squeeze a few in your pouch XD

  
The applicator is like felt material with a pointed tip and a round pop in the centre. Overall it picks up the product very well, not too much or little at one go. 

The pointed tip is good for dabbing a few spots on the cheek before blending; and the round pop is great for spreading colour onto your lips. Truly made to work for both lips and cheek huh?! Clever people at YSL!

The bottle opening is made to be as small as possible but sometimes I still worry about air going in and out whether it will dry up the product *paranoid*

THE PRODUCT

On YSL Website:

Kiss your cheeks. Blush your lips. Play with color and mix and match your lips and cheeks. Yves Saint Laurent introduces the latest innovation in the edgy Baby Doll attitude. This 2 in 1 ultra blendable air whipped mousse beautifully highlights your lips and cheeks with a sensual soft matte finish. Available in 12 signature YSL shades.


What’s inside:

  • – Hyaluronic Acid Spheres
  • – Moisturizing action emollients
  • – Softening action
  • – Pomegranate extract
  • – Antioxidant action
  • – Candellila Resin
  • – Protection
  • – Mineral Pigments
  • Bright sheer color


THE SHADES AND TEXTURE

Edit    

Sorry the lighting is on yellow side. The  pigmentation is really high and colour difference is so clear with flash. 

#4 is a really bright orange coral while #8 is a sheer baby rose pink. Both are just my type of shades 🙂

The texture is really light – truly like air whipped mousse indeed and I love it! Nothing like it elsewhere. 

Blended look below! This shows how it might look on cheeks when you blend it out. 

  

You achieve also this finish when you dab product on lips or cheeks for natural look. Colour depth is certainly adjustable if you layer on concealer on lips or sheer foundation on cheeks. 

You need to dab rather quickly on cheeks to blend it out nicely before product settles. I use bb cushion or concealer to blend out the sides to avoid any harsh lines 🙂

Next, on mua lips!

  

It would work awesome to apply on cheeks too for a matching look, but I was lazy XD

 #4 suits me well as a my-lips-but-better product isn’t it?  #8 really brightens up my face, as with how coral / orange lippies work on me.  What I love is its consistent soft matte texture and gorgeous colour… 

The staying power is ok on lips, and longer on cheeks. I haven’t found a lipstick that truly stays anyway LOL. Because of its matteness, it could feel abit dry on lips and accentuate some fine lines. I also notice it leaves a tint of colour on lips even after product fades – which is a good thing although the tint tends to cling to the dry parts of lips…

MY VERDICT

Pros:

  • Love the soft matte texture on both lips and cheeks
  • Buildable colour from sheer to highly pigmented
  • Wide variety of gorgeous shades (#4 and #8 suit me well but I’d love to get the whole range!)
  • Truly dual function where it works well for both lips and cheeks – travel friendly!
  • Staying power on cheeks are good! Colour can also be adjusted if you layer on sheer foundation. 

Cons:

  • Pricey at US$40 if not duty-free. But product probably will last a long long while. 
  • Abit drying on lips and may accentuate lip lines
  • Staying power on lips not that long although it leaves a tint on dry parts of the lips which looks fine from far (not so much from near)

Overall 

I carry #8 in my daily pouch now and works great as quick touch up to both lips and cheeks when I need it! I keep #4 at home for us during weekends when I want bright lips 🙂 it’s also a great dual product perfect for travel. 

I tend to always get a natural sheer colour and a bright coral / orange shade for lippies but I’m really tempted to get other shades of this range like #5 as recommended by beautifymeeh YouTuber. The only thing stopping me is the cost and the chance to try something new from a zillion brands out there.  Till I figure what to do, I’m certainly happy with my purchase  and probably won’t ever need to repurchase since quite a lot of product in there XD

I’m just infatuated with YSL, you know?

4 thoughts on “[Review] YSL baby doll kiss & blush in #4 Orange Fougueux and #8 Pink Hedonista

Leave a comment